AAP Punjab about

About Us

Aam Aadmi Party Punjab is a part of Aam Aadmi Party (abbreviated as AAP Punjab). Aam Aadmi Party is an Indian political party, formally launched on 26 November 2012. An offshoot of ‘India Against Corruption’ movement led by Anna Hazare, differences cropped up right from the beginning, as Anna Hazare never wanted to politicize the movement and preferred it to remain politically unaligned while Kejriwal’s political aspiration grew after the movement. Going against Anna’s wishes, Kejriwal eventually formed a political party.

Sanjay Singh, Bhagwant mann, Sucha Singh Chhotepur, Sukhpal Singh Khera are the member of Aam Aadmi Party Punjab (AAP Punjab)

The party made its electoral debut in the 2013 Delhi legislative assembly election and Arvind Kejriwal formed government with the ‘Not Unconditional’ support congress. Kejriwal formed government with a promise to quickly introduce the Jan Lokpal bill in Delhi.

Kejriwal made tall claims of eliminating corruption altogether during his first tenure as CM. But, surprising even those who had voted for his party, he stepped down in just 49 days. Failing to enact Jan Lokpal Bill, he cited obstruction caused by Congress & BJP for not able get the bill passed.

While one may tend to sympathize with a young party which claims to have been suppressed by its political rivals, but the truth is never clear. Soon after winning 28 seats in Delhi, AAP revealed its ambitious project of contesting for 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The perception within the party was if AAP could win 40% of the seats in Delhi, the same could be replicated at national level as well.

AAP then went on a massive membership drive and running high on confidence it upped its ante and decided to go all out in forthcoming general election. Delhi voters had catapulted Kejriwal from an activist to a chief minister but he dishonored their sentiment by resigning only after 49 days.